Resolutions?! Give it up, you’re an asshole.

P.S.: Or A.S. (ante-scriptum), whatever, I did write this part last. Just wanted to mention that I do know it’s one week into February, I was not in a stupor throughout January I just spent it having an oh-so-needed rest from the holidays and then having a blast skiing (I snowboard but “snowboarding” just sounds weird and long) in both Switzerland and Austria. So, yeah, I didn’t spend much time on the computer, pondering over the meaning of life. So here’s my late spontaneous January post. Feel free not to read it, but I’m sure you’re already interested 😉

New year… new luck… new me or you or him… resolutions… disappointments… “It’s how you start your year that shows…” ABSOLUTELY FUCKING NOTHING!!

All right, there it is, I’ve said it. Don’t know how many of you have thought it, I just as well went out and said it. You know why? Well, first of all because a friend was nice enough to point that out around Christmas, and I’ve thought about it a few times since then.

(Thanks, Dani 😉 )

Secondly, I really do think it’s bullshit. It’s not like the idea that however your morning starts, sets the mood for the whole day (which I’m totally behind, by the way). We’ve all had those days when you’re pissed off before you’ve even opened your eyes in the morning. But I’m also a supporter of the idea that your day could still take a turn for the better. For me, that usually happens after the first cup of coffee 🙂

So, in short, no, it does not matter how your year starts exactly, whether you kissed someone as the champagne started popping, or you were already passed out behind a couch by that time. It’s what you do with the rest of your year that counts. Because, trust me, next New Year’s you will not be thinking “Yeah, I had a shitty year and achieved nothing all because I was wearing the wrong pair of knickers 365 days ago.” No. You’ll get to the “I had a shitty year and achieved nothing…” and then you’ll get drunk and resolve, mind you, to do better. Again, starting tomorrow.

Thus, we have reached the key to those post-holiday blues a lot of people suffer from. It’s not resolutions, it’s realisations. The realisation that all those resolutions you’ve made in front of dozens of people and over a dozen drinks are all just a big talk. I’m thinking it’s a jinx, nay, a curse. Saying the magic words out loud: “My New Year’s resolutions are to: drink less, eat less, read more and be an altogether better human being!” brings only woe to the world.

Spare us all – and yourself – the drama of your unsuccessful attempt at being a better person. Let me let you in on a little secret – if you’ve hit the quarter-century mark you’re already as good as you’re going to get. If getting through puberty, out of high school, hopefully into university and possibly out of it has not worn out the asshole in you, then just face it – you’re an asshole. That doesn’t mean you’re a lower-quality person, you’re just not a nice one.  You might still be brilliant and even change the world someday, no one said you have to be pleasant about it.

Of course, I’m not condoning being a dick. All I’m saying is, if you clearly are, embrace it and try to make the best of it, don’t waste your breath on resolutions to fix what’s not broken. Rather, next time you feel like resolving something, how ’bout you do it quietly in your head with a clear idea of what exactly it is you want to achieve. I did that quite some time before the end of 2013. Then, it just so happened that the execution coincided with the beginning of the new year so I did get a good number of sneering “Aah, new year’s resolution, right!” but since it’s not being-a-better-person-like or something else I’d have to struggle with, I just smile quietly back and “keep on swimming”.

This was supposed to be a post about the last day on the North Island in New Zealand but… hey, I’ve postponed that since Christmas, if you’re still expecting it, you can wait a coupe more days, hahaha.

No, no, I didn’t mean to be an ass. I promise I’ll finish that story. On Monday (since I heard there are over two metres of snow in the mountains and my snowboard is freshly serviced, hehe).

Happy weekend!

About Yoanna Novakova

Yoanna is a reader, writer, traveller, concert goer, hiker, drinker, thinker and, of late... a blogger. She's currently doing a lot of travel writing (obviously), but fiction, fantasy and life-writing all have a representative in her portfolio. A reader of varied tastes, she's even been called "strange" for enjoying Stephen King and Terry Pratchett alike. In her pre-teen years, she used to be the kid who'd re-read her favourite books over and over again. Now she knows life is just too short for that. Always reading more than one book at a time, always writing more than one project at a time, she is yet to find her perfect pace. But she's working on it!
This entry was posted in Revelations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

