The trip I hardly ever thought I’d take.

I have never said a firm “no” to a new challenge or opportunity. Not since in the seventh grade I said that “I would never learn German, ugh!” and here I am now – preparing for an advanced exam in the very same language, living in a German-speaking country.

So, even though I’ve said, multiple times, that I wouldn’t live in the States, it was never a statement binding in any way, because, let’s face it, that’s just asking for trouble. However, I have certainly never said I would not go to the States for a visit. On the contrary, I have always been curious to go see the life across the Atlantic; the life that we’re so used to judging and we imagine we understand because of all the American movies and TV that we’re watching.

Still, I didn’t expect it to happen any time soon. It wasn’t really on the “to-do” list, so to speak. There are so may places left to visit around the world, and with all the prejudice that comes from the aforementioned movies, the USA was not a top location for me.

Well, it is now!

That’s not to say I’ve converted from a sceptic to a worshiper of the American culture and way of life. It only goes to show that even if you’re truly open-minded, there is always a little further that you could go. I can honestly say that I came back to Europe with a whole new view of the Land of plenty. It was a trip like no other that we’ve taken. If our plans had worked out last year, New Zealand would’ve definitely taken the gold for “trip of a lifetime so far”, but since we only spent two weeks amongst the Kiwis, it would have to take the second place.

We spent over a month, and we travelled from coast to coast. Sure, we didn’t see it all, but you’d be a fool to think anyone could manage that in just a month. The States are vast and oh-so varied. But we did hop around quite a lot: from the bustle of New York to the scorching heat of Miami; from the snowy peaks of Colorado to the salty plateau of Death Valley; all the way along the Las Vegas strip and up the steepest and most crooked streets of San Francisco (and the northern hemisphere for that matter).

It was simply amazing! And I will be telling all about it. Only not today, because after a month-long visit, we then were the hosts for some friends of our own, so there is a lot to catch up on, this blog not excluded. I will be wrapping up the New Zealand trip, but as this last adventure happened so soon after, they’ll have to overlap a little. Come on, if I can manage writing it, you can manage reading it, OK? 🙂

With that said, I am off, but I will update very soon.

About Yoanna Novakova

Yoanna is a reader, writer, traveller, concert goer, hiker, drinker, thinker and, of late... a blogger. She's currently doing a lot of travel writing (obviously), but fiction, fantasy and life-writing all have a representative in her portfolio. A reader of varied tastes, she's even been called "strange" for enjoying Stephen King and Terry Pratchett alike. In her pre-teen years, she used to be the kid who'd re-read her favourite books over and over again. Now she knows life is just too short for that. Always reading more than one book at a time, always writing more than one project at a time, she is yet to find her perfect pace. But she's working on it!
This entry was posted in Travel, USA and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The trip I hardly ever thought I’d take.

  1. you are gonna like this its a short movie (5min) of a great Adventure called the Reward. http://quintilluspollux.wordpress.com/category/inspiration/

    Like

  2. Pingback: Coming up… | Yoanna vs the World

Leave a Reply

