AN APPEAL TO MY GENERATION

Hello everyone,

Today I won’t be talking about travelling and foreign countries, because what I’m about to post goes beyond borders and beyond language barriers.

Below is a copy-paste of a very impulsive comment of mine that I posted on Facebook today upon sharing this article: ‘The Best Thing About Feminists Is They Don’t Get Action So When You Rape Them It’s 100 Times Tighter’: Welcome To Facebook And Tinder

The quote from the article’s title is one of the most violent and disturbing statements that I’ve heard or read lately. The absurdity of it is right up there with “all Muslims are terrorists” and “you can be cured of being gay”, it’s that obnoxious and misconstrued.

Disclaimer: I am not a self-proclaimed feminist and I am not on a crusade against men (and neither are true feminists, as far as I know). I’m just putting that here because you probably already have suspicions about what my reaction as a woman might be, but please bear with me for a couple of minutes. I’m putting the same comment and not some new in-depth analysis of the situation because I’m not set out to dish life advice or simply express horror and disdain towards this outrage. It is a lengthy article, but one I couldn’t stop reading, and while doing so this plea was forming more and more in my head. I have no energy for empty outbursts of anger, and it would be more than useless to take offence as a woman (the latter would probably just throw more wood on the “anti-feminist” fire).

What I did instead is take into account what I hear and read from people of various generations and various walks of life every day, and one thing stands out for me: things (beliefs, mis/conceptions, love, hatred, prejudice, discrimination, xeno-/homo- and other phobias) are passed on and reciprocated…. until they are not. So here is my appeal:

AN APPEAL TO EVERY SINGLE PERSON FROM MY GENERATION – because a lot of my friends are having kids now, and we are the next generation of parents:

Please, PLEASE take the time to teach your children about sex, about gender, about self-awareness, about the reality behind “the bad words” (I know few of us knew exactly what those words meant when we first started using them behind our parents’ backs and on our friends or foes). Please, take the time to remember what year we live in and have a think about how far modern society has come, and at what cost! Don’t let that go to waste by perpetuating the ignorant insecurities of men from 50 years ago, some of whom still can’t deal with “losing their power over women” aka gender equality.

We can’t change small-minded, illiterate excuses for a man like Zane Alchin, unfortunately, it’s too late for him, but we CAN change the mindset of the next generation. Even if you carry a chip on your shoulder just because women are allowed to vote, talk about sex in public, and chose to say “No”, you still have the opportunity NOT to pass those grudges onto your kids. They’ll be much nicer, much happier people, and will surely thank you for it!

It’s high time to phase out the bigoted, misogynistic, irrational and just plain wrong mental picture of gender equality and feminism that is mostly spread around.

“Every time you ‘playfully’ tell a woman to get back in the kitchen, every time you smack a girl on the bum because its funny, every time you make a joke about rape YOU are contributing to a society where unfortunately women are not safe.”

It sounds like it’s also time for subjects like “[What] Feminism [really stands for]” and “[Dealing with] Gender quality” to start appearing on high school curriculums. And before someone says that that’s not necessary or excessive, I’d say it’s glaringly obvious how necessary it is, and that excessive is where some people take their “freedom of speech” with impunity.

/end copy-paste

I decided to put this on my blog as well because I didn’t want an issue like that falling through the cracks of FB’s attention span. The impact might not last much longer on Twitter or WordPress, but I feel I should try regardless.

Thank you for reading!

Yoanna, 28

About Yoanna Novakova

Yoanna is a reader, writer, traveller, concert goer, hiker, drinker, thinker and, of late... a blogger. She's currently doing a lot of travel writing (obviously), but fiction, fantasy and life-writing all have a representative in her portfolio. A reader of varied tastes, she's even been called "strange" for enjoying Stephen King and Terry Pratchett alike. In her pre-teen years, she used to be the kid who'd re-read her favourite books over and over again. Now she knows life is just too short for that. Always reading more than one book at a time, always writing more than one project at a time, she is yet to find her perfect pace. But she's working on it!
This entry was posted in It's been on my mind, Shit Happens and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

