I Get High On Live Music

Hello my dears,

Here I am, back from my short vacation and back online. I did not post anything last night (at least not here), but with good reason.

Robb Flynn, aka The General, introducing “Darkness Within”

And his name is The General:

As I write more and more in this blog, I find I’m writing more and more about myself. That might sound like an obvious statement, but in case you hadn’t noticed, I’ve tried to keep the travel post more or less impersonal as far as our (because I’m not travelling alone, although I mostly write from my own singular point of view) personalities go, and make it more about the experience of travelling, focusing on the curiosities of the places I/we visit.

However, it’s not possible to be genuine and truthful about my experiences if I’m omitting truths about myself. And, as I mentioned in a previous post, I’m starting to think of you, my readers, as my silent friends as you read and know more about me.

So here’s another little nugget that most of my other friends already know – my absolute favourite band is Machine Head. I listen to them when I’m on the verge of depression or on the verge of biting someone’s face off – and they always bring me back! – and I listen to them when I’m bubbling over with joy and love everyone on God’s green Earth. They centre me.

Which is why I’ve got this:

Yes, I have branded myself, and with a line from one of their songs, which is sort of my personal mantra now. It does look like it could use some retouching; good thing I’m going to the studio this week 🙂

If you’re having trouble reading it, try using a mirror 😉 If you’re still having trouble, have a listen –  the song is All In Your Head.

Add to this the fact that this metal band, which most people would not consider to be very sentimental music, brings me to tears every single time I watch them live and you get the picture.

But a MH concert is not the only emotional music experience for me, any great live performance by a great band is. I just get high on live music. Foo Fighters, for example, are fast becoming my favourite live act after only having seen them twice, but if you ever have the chance to go to one of their shows – don’t miss it! They’re fucking unbelievable! And they give their all, even if major injuries are involved.

I’ve come to terms with the fact that I’m not a crazy teenager who goes wild on every concert and gets out of the arena even more buzzing than she was going in, but I refuse to feel old about it. I take it as a good sign that I don’t need the bruises and the broken lip at the end of every show to prove I’ve had a blast.

I’ve had enough of those: I’ve had the split lip and the bruises, I’ve lost multiple earrings (at once) in a mosh pit, I even once lost a shoe at a festival (luckily, I found that at the end of the song, because it was the first day of a three-day festival and I only had the one pair, because who needs back up shoes, you’re at a fucking festival! :D). What I relish most now is the atmosphere, the chanting of hundreds or thousands of people who are all on the same page with you, who all adore the artists on the stage and worship at the shrine of their craft. It’s all about the music, the reefs and that bass drum rhythm pumping in my chest – that is my addiction!

Don’t get me wrong, I still get into the occasional mosh pit, it’s basically the adrenaline you’d get in a mass pub fight without the threat of actually being trampled to death – because the rule is that you help each other, especially if you happen to have just knocked a fellow mosher out 🙂 But I could just as easily go the rest of my life, enjoying every single concert, without ever having to meet the sweaty back (or worse, front) of another strange man with my face! Naked moshers are the worse – there’s no traction whatsoever, you just slide off and onto the next one, yuck. But if you’re anything like me, and you manage to get that last variable out of the equation, you’re bound to have a blast at a good show.

Music saves me indeed!!

Oh, yeah, and guess what – I finally got that pick I’ve been pushing and prodding front stage on so many concerts for! Yay!

So, hopefully, now you get why my next recount of the Colorado trip is being pushed back yet another few days. And if you happen to be a Machine Head fan and the band is coming your way next – GO to An Evening With Machine Head; if you’re a Head Case already, you know what I’m going on about 😉

It was an amazing night, guys, and I really think/hope the band felt that way too!

A band like this makes even the smallest stage seem huge!

xx, y.

About Yoanna Novakova

Yoanna is a reader, writer, traveller, concert goer, hiker, drinker, thinker and, of late... a blogger. She's currently doing a lot of travel writing (obviously), but fiction, fantasy and life-writing all have a representative in her portfolio. A reader of varied tastes, she's even been called "strange" for enjoying Stephen King and Terry Pratchett alike. In her pre-teen years, she used to be the kid who'd re-read her favourite books over and over again. Now she knows life is just too short for that. Always reading more than one book at a time, always writing more than one project at a time, she is yet to find her perfect pace. But she's working on it!
This entry was posted in Procrastination, Revelations and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

