What is wrong with you, December?!

I’m serious, there is something radically off about the past couple of weeks and the only common denominator that comes to mind is that they were both in the month of December. IMG_20151211_174049And so that you don’t get any wrong ideas, it is not the spirit of Christmas or whatever. I am the last person you will see in a Christmas jumper and Christmas-tree-ornament-earrings or any other festive style accessories. The closest thing to that would be my alcohol-themed necklace, courtesy of my most awesome girl friend – Cheers, Gabs! 🙂

So could this be a post-NaNo thing? Because I have not been able to sit down and write a coherent page since November ended. Or is it a post-London depression, because I just spent a few days there and I’m always a little sad when I have to leave again. Or could the P in PMS also stand for “post”? And if things like that can pile up, well, right before the holidays is one hell of a time to get that going! Because we all know what a relaxing time the winter holidays are. Not! (Just in case someone didn’t glean the sarcasm)

So what is wrong with December? Is it something about sun-eruptions or geomagnetic storms that makes everyone especially resistant to productive concentration or is it something that only turns my ADD into something suspiciously resembling my university years exam-weeks?

exam-weeks_o_1061628

That is pretty much how I feel about my time management these days. What this had made me realise is that I became so invested in the book I was reading for work (sort of) and the tv show I was watching for pure entertainment (The 100) that everything else became a low priority story. Including my own!! How awful is that? And now that both the book and two seasons of The 100 are done – finished on the same day too! – my life is in that well-known limbo again.

I don’t want to say “writer’s block”, but this is pretty much the most my daily creativity would amount to this week:

 

writers-block

Picture: source

 

Only it’s not as bad ass as this. On the bright side – the house is spotless now, and I’m almost packed for a my visit back home for the aforementioned holidays, so that ought to count for something, right?!

Ughh, I know, I know, I’ll try and do better next time…

 

 

xx, y.

P.S.: Oh, and might I add, the new WP editor is the worst! It’s one of the reasons I’ve been putting off writing the next travel post – inserting pictures and making the post look in a specific way has become impossibly user UNfriendly. I’m not happy.

About Yoanna Novakova

Yoanna is a reader, writer, traveller, concert goer, hiker, drinker, thinker and, of late... a blogger. She's currently doing a lot of travel writing (obviously), but fiction, fantasy and life-writing all have a representative in her portfolio. A reader of varied tastes, she's even been called "strange" for enjoying Stephen King and Terry Pratchett alike. In her pre-teen years, she used to be the kid who'd re-read her favourite books over and over again. Now she knows life is just too short for that. Always reading more than one book at a time, always writing more than one project at a time, she is yet to find her perfect pace. But she's working on it!
This entry was posted in On a slow day..., Procrastination, Shit Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What is wrong with you, December?!

  1. Pingback: January behaving… OK | Yoanna vs the World

Leave a Reply

