A Vacation from Vacation

Ahoy, Internet!

Have you ever had that feeling you need to have some alone time to actually rest after you’ve been on vacation?

Sometimes it happens after an actual vacation because the schedule was so crazy packed with sightseeing and activities and new food to try that you haven’t had the time to actually relax. That’s what I call a “vacation hangover” – taking time to not only do all the dirty laundry you brought back but also to let the experiences sink.

Well, that’s not the vacation I just had me today. My vacation was a half-day completely disconnected from the schedule I’ve been so falling behind on. Before the first sip of coffee had passed my lips, I had already been to the post office, had an argument with my soon-to-be-husband (only mentioning this pseudo-title because the argument was, of course, wedding related.. and, oh right, I’m getting married! Ha!), and been to the store for essentials like milk for said coffee. So as soon as I finally had my cup of ok-now-you-can-talk-liquid all the tasks that I’ve had to put off from last weak assaulted me with their urgency.

In the meantime, I haven’t been home (Zürich) for 10 days – which is the vacation in question, which was more of a business trip back home (Sofia) where I had as many errands and meetings and appointments as I could possibly fit in a day – so the list of things around the house that needed attention was almost as long as my unread emails.

It’s been a while since I’d thought “You know, how about I not procrastinate with house stuff and just get to the point”. But then the state of my email came to mind and… long story short, the kitchen is clean, the laundry is folded, and I no longer have to catch up on “Younger”.

Silver lining: Podcasts are awesome and I am finally coming around to them. I listened to a few episodes of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Magic Lessons a couple of months ago, and thoroughly enjoyed them, but now that I’m mixing it up with Book Riot’s Get Booked and the Aussie So You Want to Be a Writer I’m really starting to settle in this new nook of learning and entertainment.

In other news, I’m so totally engulfed by V.E. Schwab’s parallel Londons that I’m afraid I’ll have to mourn the end of A Gathering of Shadows. But more about how fast and unexpectedly I’ve fallen for another fictional guy… in the review of A Darker Shade of Magic, which is coming in the next few days.

Now that I’ve successfully put off life for another half an hour, it’s time to surrender.

Ta! 🙂

About Yoanna Novakova

Yoanna is a reader, writer, traveller, concert goer, hiker, drinker, thinker and, of late... a blogger. She's currently doing a lot of travel writing (obviously), but fiction, fantasy and life-writing all have a representative in her portfolio. A reader of varied tastes, she's even been called "strange" for enjoying Stephen King and Terry Pratchett alike. In her pre-teen years, she used to be the kid who'd re-read her favourite books over and over again. Now she knows life is just too short for that. Always reading more than one book at a time, always writing more than one project at a time, she is yet to find her perfect pace. But she's working on it!
This entry was posted in On a slow day..., Procrastination. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

